Back

About the Workflow center

Discover a pre-defined and digitized workflows to streamline your processes

How to create and configure a workflow

You have two ways to create a workflow:

  1. From a template: Templates come with predefined steps and task proposals, making it easy to set up a workflow. They are fully customizable, allowing you to tailor the workflow to your specific needs. It’s a flexible solution to organize many types of onboarding and offboarding tasks saving time.
  2. From scratch: Start building your workflow from the ground up, giving you complete freedom and flexibility in designing the process to suit your requirements.

 

To create a workflow from a template

  1. On your sidebar, click on Workflows
  2. Choose the template you need, either Onboarding or Offboarding, and click on it
  3. Click on Use a template
  4. It will appear the Template preview, read it and click on Next
  5. Enter a Workflow name and a Description
  6. Click on Use a template

7. You will be redirected to the Configuration page
8. Check all the steps and tasks and if needed edit or delete them by clicking on the three dots icon

💡 You can also add new steps and/or tasks.

 

 


 

To create a custom workflow 

  1. On your sidebar, click on Workflows
  2. Click on Custom workflow
  3. Click on + New workflow
  4. Enter a Workflow name and a Description
  5. Choose the Category: Custom, Onboarding or Offboarding
  6. Click on Create

 

How to add a step

  1. From the Configuration page, click on + New step
  2. Enter a Name
  3. Select your preferred Step progression, that is, the sequential stages or steps involved in a particular workflow:
    • Schedule: Decide when you want this step to begin. This condition allows configuring the step activation based on relative dates. If this step is the first in the workflow, it won't start automatically if the activation date hasn't arrived yet.
    • Automatic: the step will be activated once mandatory tasks in the previous step are completed. If this step is the first in the workflow, it will start as soon as employees are added.
    • Manual: This step only begins when activated by hand.

Only people with the Edit Workflow permission and the employees you have assigned to the workflow can see the steps.

 

If you want to change the step progression configuration:

  1. On your sidebar, go to Workflows
  2. From the list of workflows, placed on the workflow in question
  3. Open the preferred workflow
  4. Go to the Configuration tab
  5. Choose a step, then click the three dots icon
  6. Click Edit step
  7. Change the Step progression
  8. Click Save
 

Step progression can be manually changed by enabling parallel execution, breaking free from the constraints of linear execution and making workflows more dynamic and efficient. 

To manually change step progression: 

  1. Open the workflow in question
  2. In Employees tab, select the employee for whom you want to change the step progression
  3. Navigate to the step you want to activate and click Start this step
     
 

 

How to add a task

  1. From the Configuration page, click on + New task
  2. Enter a Name and a Description
  3. Set a due date to complete the task. If you don’t need a deadline, just disable the option.
  4. Choose if it is a Mandatory task
  5. Assign to: a task always needs to have at least one assignee. Select who should complete the task choosing between:
  • Workflow participant: the people that has been assigned to the workflow 
  • Manual selection: choose manually
  • Manager: the manager that appears in the org chart as the manager of the employee assigned to the workflow
  • Workspace: the location to which belongs the employee assigned to the workflow
  • Team: the assigned employee's team
  • Team leads: the team leads that appear in the org chart as the team leads of the assigned employee
  1. If needed, Attach documents
  1. Super tasks: speed up the document management process between your employees and HR with these shortcuts.
    • Request file upload: Enable employees to upload specific documents to their tasks and select where they automatically upload.
    • Request document completion: Upload a new document or use a documente template for employees to fill in and/or sign.
    • Request personal info: Collect the employee data you need and save it to their profiles
  1. Click on Save task

A workflow to work properly has to have at least one step with a task and at least one assignee.

 

 💡 Supertask Document Templates (only available for Enterprise plans)

You can integrate Document Templates into Workflows to create and distribute documents in an automated way, keeping track of the process at the level of each new employee. This is especially useful for onboarding processes, but can also be added to other custom workflows.

 

 


 

Tasks overview tab

From the tasks overview page, you can see highlights on the workflow and pending task list. You have an highlights module with the most relevant workflow data:

  • Ongoing workflows
  • Pending mandatory tasks
  • Overdue mandatory tasks

You can filter the list to create more focused views.

 

You can take action on tasks that are not being completed by sending reminders to people with pending tasks. Simply click on Send a reminder. The reminders will be sent to the email and the factorial inbox.

 

 


 

Employees tab

From the employees tab, you can add one or several employees to the workflow. There we can see:

  • Employee name
  • Step in which he/she is
  • How many tasks have been completed out of the total number of tasks in the step.
  • When is the due date of the next task

Only people with the Edit Workflow permission and the employees you have assigned to the workflow can see the overview page.

 

 

To add employees to the workflow

  1. From the Employees tab click on Add employee
  2. Select the employees
  3. Click on Add employees

💡 Inside the workflow configuration of each employee are displayed:

  • The status of each step
  • Completed and pending tasks
  • Task assignees
 

💡 When a workflow triggers a new step, all its tasks are simultaneously assigned to different people.

 

 


 

Notifications

For assignees and employees, whenever a new step is activated, they'll see new tasks in their inbox and task section. Additionally, they will receive a single email containing all the newly activated tasks. These tasks will have a timeline, indicating their position in the process.

Once a task is completed, it will be automatically marked as such on the manager's side too.

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Our customer care team is here for you.

Contact us