Reasons why your Employees cannot Clock-In

Review these steps to solve the most common issues in time tracking.  

 ➡ They Have Not Clocked-Out from the Previous Day

Many times we leave the office in a hurry and forget to clock-out. While we continue our day and go to sleep, the clock keeps counting our working hours. The day after, or the following Monday, we return, and, surprisingly, we cannot clock-in! Why? Because the clock-in has been left running.

Now, as Admins, we have to solve this. We simply have to ask the employee to please review the clock-in of the past days. If they notice that one day they forgot to clock-out, they must edit the number of hours worked that day. Once this is done, employees will be able to clock in and out. 

Fichaje 1

➡ They Have Been Excluded from Time Tracking 

Yes, they could have been excluded from Time Tracking😱! It could happen that we accidentally click on this option without understanding what it means. Luckily, there is an effortless way to re-include them. 

Fichaje 2

➡ They Have Not been Added to the Time Tracking Policy

For an employee to clock-in according to the settings you have established in the time control policy, the employee needs to be part of that policy. 

If you notice that this employee is clocking-in/out in other ways, go to the Time Control Policies and check that your established settings are correct.

Fichaje 3

Fichaje 4

💡 Within the policy, you can review the Policy Settings and Employees

➡ My employee forgot to clock-in in the past days! Now I, as an Administrator, want to edit his/her clock-in

Even as an admin, you won´t be able to do this. No one but the employee himself can make edits to his time tracking, as long as the Admin has given him permission. 


  • Where can I find permissions regarding Time Tracking Edition?

  1. Head to Company
  2. Select Permissions
  3. Click in the group of interest
  4. Time Tracking 
  5. Edit clock-in / clock-out data
  • If my employees make edits to their Clocks-In, will I find out?

Of course, everything is registered in the system. When you download the Time Tracking Report of your workers, you will see the edited changes and their observations.